Governor Dickson Receives More 5,000 APC Returnees To PDP ...Promises Level Playing Ground For All Members

Bayelsa State Governor, the Honourable Henry Seriake Dickson on Thursday received about five thousand chieftains of the All Progressives Congress, (APC), who returned to the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP).

Receiving the returnees at the party Secretariat in Yenagoa, Governor Dickson said only the PDP can win elections in Bayelsa State and in Ijaw land.

He said the PDP Government in Bayelsa under his watch has placed the state on the path of peace, prosperity and development, adding that
Bayelsans are happy with the party.

The Governor in a press statement signed by his Chief Press Secretary, Francis Ottah-Agbo called for more support for the party leadership and assured that the PDP will create a level- playing field for all aspirants to contest elections.

He said:  "The PDP is the only party that has a developmental agenda for the Ijaw people. What we do in PDP is to strategize to win elections and after elections we work for the development of our people because we are in politics to serve our people.

‘The other party comes to kill our people because they lack the vision, they have no agenda for our people except to destroy what our founding fathers have built and what our Restoration Government is onsolidating. Except us, no person, nobody in the South-South in any party had won election under the ruling APC.

“We were the first to win election in the South-South under the Muhammadu Buhari Presidency. Any person who is deceived to contest
election in 2019 on another platform other than PDP will still lose because only PDP can win election in Bayelsa State.

‘I am very grateful to all our brothers and sisters for taking the decision to return but while you were away, our party became very cohesive and strong with order and discipline. So watch out for those who want to divide you and give encouragement and sow seed of discord.

‘On behalf of your government and the leadership of the PDP, we promise all of you level playing ground and fair play. You are welcome
back home to your party. All the leaders who have come, none of them should suffer any loss of prestige or seniority, all of them should be
incorporated into the appropriate organs of the team, from their communities, wards, local government area and at the state level 
The Governor charges the party leadership not to allow any of the returnees suffer on account of their earlier mistake of jilting the

Chairman of Bayelsa State chapter of People's Democratic Party (PDP), Hon Moses Cloepas, has said only his party has the capacity to defeat
Federal  might as it did in 2016 when Governor Henry Seriake Dickson was re-elected against all odds. In 2019, the Chairman said PDP will
reenact its winning streak by sweeping the polls.

He said: "Bayelsa PDP is invincible. No force can defeat us. The APC deployed all the repressive apparatus to capture Bayelsa by hook or
crook in 2016 but we deployed People's power to re-elect Governor Seriake Dickson, a performing Governor, a visionary leader and leader
of the party in the state. All of you returning to the party are welcome. You won't suffer any loss or discrimination ..." 

Special Adviser, (Politics) to the Governor, Chief Fynman Wilson said, he and the PDP apparatus in the state are working hard to mop up the
remnant of the remaining tiny opposition in the state back to the PDP.

Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon Kombowei Benson said the Governor is "God-fearing and has taken Bayelsa State from darkness and the light of God is now shinning on us."

He pledged the continuous support and collaboration of the legislature with the executive arm. 

The leaders of the 5, 000 APC decampees include; former members of the Bayelsa State House of Assembly, which include; Hon. Vivian-Ere Imananagha and Hon. Johnson Alalibo and Dr. O. O. Osusu, former Special Adviser on Economic Matters, Hon. (Dr) Michael Amaegberi, former Commissioner-Civil Service Commission, Dr. (Mrs) Love Amaseimogha, former Chairman of Sagbama LGA, Hon. Evelyn S.B Odi, former Chairman-Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA, Hon. Woyengikuro Inieyeri, former Chairman-Ekeremor LGA, Hon. John Ebikake, former Commissioner for Finance, Hon. Stephen Ogullah and former
Commissioner for Transport, Fred Nyanayo.